Seabirds_coverCatherine Cole shortlisted for the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards

Congratulations to Catherine Cole whose beautiful short story collection has been shortlisted for the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards. Seabirds Crying in the Harbour Dark is one of the six titles nominated for the prestigious Christina Stead Prize for Fiction. The $40,000 prize will be announced on 30 April.

Judges comments:  “In this elegant, delicately crafted collection of short stories, Catherine Cole brings a poetic sensibility to the examination of apparently unremarkable moments in ordinary lives … This intelligent, understated collection offers a powerful reflection on the transience of life and the fragility of home.”

Murder at Dusk cover reveal

MurderAtDusk_cover“May 1942, Melbourne is torn between fearing Japanese invasion and reveling in the carnival atm

osphere brought by the influx of American servicemen. But it is also a city gripped by terror – a serial killer is on the loose in the darkened streets, and three women have already been brutally strangled.”

Check out the wonderful cover for Ian W. Shaw’s upcoming true crime book, Murder At Dusk. To be released by Hachette in June.


Elisabeth Holdsworth book acquired by Brio Books

We are delighted to announce that award-winning essayist Elisabeth Holdsworth will publish a book on Progressive Judaism with Brio Books in early 2019. The book builds on Elisabeth’s recent ABR RAFT fellowship essay, If This Is A Jew.

Elisabeth will be appearing at Melbourne Jewish Book Week (May 3-10, 2018).


April in Paris: Australian cover reveal + reviews


The gorgeous cover for the Australian release of Tessa Lunney’s April in Paris, 1921 has just been revealed!

The novel will be released by HarperCollins Australia in mid-2018 and concurrently in the US by Pegasus Books.

Early reviews of April in Paris, 1921:

“Fascinating characters, beautifully written.”
– Kate Williams, New York Times bestselling author of ‘Becoming Queen Victoria’

“Tessa Lunney brilliantly evokes the Années folles of the Roaring Twenties as her heroine―an Australian debutant-turned-nurse-turned-spy―Kiki Button traipses through Paris’s sensual bohemian culture hunting for a World War I mole and stolen Pablo Picasso painting.”
– Julie McElwain, author of ‘A Murder in Time’ and ‘A Twist in Time’

“An irresistible debut! Adventurous and whip-smart, Kiki Button is Jazz Age Paris’s most dazzling ex-pat.”
– David Krugler, author of ‘The Dead Don’t Bleed’

“Liberated from her wartime duties as a nurse, Kiki Button, Tessa Lunney’s main character of her debut April in Paris, 1921, is a gossip columnist-cum-detective who finds herself mixed up in a mystery set against the backdrop of post-WWI Paris. Lunney takes the reader on a breathless, page-turning journey through cafes, streets, and dark alleys of this Bohemian time period, searching for a stolen piece of art. Kiki, who is charming, self-possessed, and sexually free, is readable and fun, a modern woman blazing though the Années folles no holds barred.”
– John Copenhaver, author of ‘Dodging and Burning’


Hachette acquires Ian W Shaw’s next nonfiction book

We are pleased to share the news that, following the success of The Rag Tag Fleet, Hachette will be publishing Ian W Shaw’s next nonfiction book in mid-2018.

Ian’s sixth book will explore the fascinating story of Eddie Leonski and Melbourne’s ‘brownout murders’ of 1942. Based on extensive archival and documentary research, the book is an insightful investigation into one of Australia’s most intriguing serial killers.


Kate Murdoch’s second novel acquired by Regal House Publishing

Just days before the release of her debut novel, Stone Circle, we’re delighted to announce that Kate Murdoch’s second novel, The Orange Grove, will be published in early-2019 by Regal House Publishing. The Orange Grove is an irresistibly dark and richly-drawn book about the passions and intrigues of court mistresses in eighteenth-century France.


Tessa Lunney’s debut novel sold to HarperCollins in Australia and Pegasus Books in the US

We are twice as excited to announce that Tessa Lunney’s sparkling novel April in Paris, 1921 has been acquired by HarperCollins in Australia AND by Pegasus Books in the US!

April in Paris, 1921 is an upmarket female spy thriller set in post-war France that follows the exploits of Kiki Button – war veteran, party girl, detective, and spy. This is Tessa’s debut novel and will be released in Australia and the US in July 2018.



Stone Circle cover reveal + review

In the lead-up to the December 2017 release of Kate Murdoch’s debut novel, Stone Circle, we’re excited to reveal the cover and share an extract from an early review:

“Murdoch presents a delightful romance, feathered with light touches of fantasy … Italy sparkles in this layered 16th-century romance.” – Kirkus Reviews


The Rag Tag Fleet in store now!

Ian W Shaw’s wonderful new nonfiction book, The Rag Tag Fleet, published by Hachette Australia, is now available in all good book stores and online.


Ilsa Evans longlisted for the 17th Davitt Awards

Congratulations to Ilsa Evans, who has been longlisted for the Sisters in Crime 17th Davitt Awards.

Dastardly Deeds is the fourth book from the Nell Forrest mystery series, and the third to be recognised in the prestigious Sisters in Crime Awards.


Elisabeth Holdsworth awarded the 2017 RAFT Fellowship

Congratulations to Elisabeth Holdsworth, who has just been awarded the 2017 Australian Book Review RAFT Fellowship.

From the ABR press release: “Elisabeth was the inaugural winner of the Calibre Essay Prize in 2007. She is the 15th ABR Fellow to be named since 2011, and she receives $7,500 from ABR. In her Fellowship essay, Elisabeth will explore the nature of progressive Judaism in Australia, Israel, and the United States. This was our largest Fellowship field to date …”


New YA fantasy series by Ilsa Evans to be published by Harbour Publishing House

We are excited to share the news that the talented team at Harbour Publishing House will be publishing the new YA dystopian fantasy series by best-selling Australian author Ilsa Evans.

The first title in the series, Stratification, is Ilsa’s 14th novel and her first YA book. It will be published in late 2017.


Stone Circle acquired by Fireship Press

We are pleased to announce that Kate Murdoch’s debut novel, Stone Circle, has been acquired by Fireship Press.

Stone Circle is a richly-imagined historical fantasy novel that draws the reader into an exotic 16th century world of love triangles, supernatural gifts and dramatic escapes.

Fireship Press will publish the book in late 2017/early 2018.


The River released in North America

Congratulations to Krystal-Lee MacRae! Her stunning debut YA fantasy The River has been released today in North America. For more information and to order:


As a child, she survived falling in the deadly river that surrounds her island home, cursing her with a strange tattoo and the question of why. Now, she must travel across the water to get supplies for her people. That is, if the creatures that lurk beneath the surface don’t get her first. The inhabitants of the water are not the only thing that Kiya fears, however. The river may have spared her life; will it take her mind in return?


Tessa Lunney wins the Josephine Ulrick Prize for Literature

We are very proud to announce that Tessa Lunney is the 2016 winner of the prestigious Griffith University Josephine Ulrick Prize for Literature!

2016 Josephine Ulrick Prize


This Thing of Darkness acquired by Scholastic

We are pleased to report that Scholastic Australia have acquired This Thing of Darkness, a YA novel by Melbourne writer Matt Davies.  This Thing of Darkness is a relatable and moving story about 17-year-old Riley that explores the power of understanding and forgiveness – even when the pain is unbearable and the crime unspeakable.

The manuscript first came to public attention when it was highly commended in the Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards for an Unpublished Manuscript. The book will be released in Australia by Scholastic in mid-2017.


The River cover reveal

We are excited to reveal the cover for Krystal-Lee MacRae’s exquisite Young Adult fantasy novel, The River.

The River will be released in North America by Chamber Press in September 2016.



Dastardly Deeds out now!

Ilsa Evans new book Dastardly Deeds is out now through Momentum Books.

“It was supposed to be the holiday of a lifetime …

When Nell Forrest’s life hits a speed bump (which is most definitely not a midlife crisis) a cruise around the Mediterranean seems like just the ticket.

Unfortunately, that’s an idea shared by her mother, her ex-husband, his new partner, and a police detective with whom Nell has a stormy history. Fortunately, meditation is just one of the many activities offered aboard the luxury liner, but Nell will need more than that to face what lies ahead.

A tragic death in Rome is quickly followed by another in Turkey. Then an unexpected discovery provides a link between the two, and Nell must stow her plans for relaxation once and for all.

One of her shipmates is a cold-blooded murderer, and it seems that Nell is the only one with the wherewithal to figure it out. But figure it out she must, because the murderer, like the cruise, has only just begun …

Dastardly Deeds is the fourth book in Ilsa Evans’ Nell Forrest Mystery series.

This cosy mystery is perfect for fans of Alexander McCall Smith, M.C. Beaton, Kerry Greenwood and Joanna Fluke.”

You can read more about it or purchase the book here